fr en
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Carl Andre</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Robert Grosvenor<br class='autobr' />
Sol LeWitt<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Carl Andre</p>
<p>Carl Andre</p>
<p>Sol LeWitt</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Robert Grosvenor<br class='autobr' />
Sol LeWitt<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>

Mind & Matter — 2014

About...

Mind & Matter

May 23 — September 20, 2014

With Carl Andre, stanley brouwn, Robert Grosvenor, Sol LeWitt, and Lawrence Weiner.
Curator: Daniel Marzona.

This exhibit focuses on a group of artists who began working in the late 1950s, and on the decade that followed. They are all considered to be part of the minimalist movement and conceptual art, and all very influential towards new ways of thinking about what art might be.

The artists known as “minimalists” tried to find ways of breaking out of the expressionist tradition by eschewing any allusion in both the presentation of their simple structures and the material from which they are produced, which have no symbolic meaning. “Conceptual” artists, on the other hand, began to abandon the material aspect of a piece in order to focus on ideas (especially those based on linguistic structures), which led to a growing dematerialization of the art piece.

Although these are often considered antagonistic movements, this exhibit hopes to expand the perception of their commonalities. Minimal and conceptual artists are juxtaposed with mind and matter in the same way, avoiding any hierarchy between the two. The exhibit aims to open new paths towards an art approach that deemphasizes individual expression of mind or matter, while showing and exploring mind and matter themselves.

fr en
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Carl Andre</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Robert Grosvenor<br class='autobr' />
Sol LeWitt<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Carl Andre</p>
<p>Carl Andre</p>
<p>Sol LeWitt</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>stanley brouwn</p>
<p>Carl Andre<br class='autobr' />
Robert Grosvenor<br class='autobr' />
Sol LeWitt<br class='autobr' />
Lawrence Weiner</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>
<p>Robert Grosvenor</p>

Mind & Matter — 2014

À propos...

Mind & Matter
23 mai - 20 septembre 2014

Avec Carl Andre, stanley brouwn, Robert Grosvenor, Sol LeWitt, Lawrence Weiner
curateur : Daniel Marzona

Cette exposition se concentre sur un groupe d’artistes qui ont commencé leur travail à la fin des années 1950 et sur la décennie qui a suivi. Ils sont tous considérés comme faisant partie du mouvement minimaliste et de l’art conceptuel, et tous très influents sur les nouvelles façons de penser à ce que pourrait être l’art.

Alors que les artistes dits « minimalistes » ont essayé de trouver des moyens de sortir d’une tradition expressionniste en évitant toute allusion et la présentation de leurs structures simples et la matière à partir de laquelle ils ont été construits, n’ayant pas de signification symbolique, les artistes qualifiés de « conceptuels « ont commencé à abandonner l’aspect matériel d’une œuvre pour se concentrer sur des idées (en particulier basées sur des structures linguistiques) qui ont conduit à une dématérialisation croissante de l’objet d’art.

À l’époque, souvent considérés comme mouvements antagonistes, l’exposition entend ouvrir la vue d’une perspective commune. Les artistes minimaux ou conceptuels, se sont confrontés avec l’esprit et la matière de la même manière, en évitant toute hiérarchie entre les deux et l’ouverture de nouvelles voies vers un art qui était moins intéressé par une expression individuelle de l’esprit et de la matière, mais en montrant et explorant l’esprit et la matière même.